Year founded. 1886.

Reformed. 1891, 1902, 1908, 1913, and 1921.

The Beginning:

Dunshaughlin GAA was formed in 1886 as St. Seachnall’s, and was one of the earliest GAA clubs in the country. By this time the GAA was only in existence for two years. Founded in Thurles in 1884 by Michael Cusack, the GAA was more concerned with athletics than with games so very few football and hurling teams were formed. 1886 was however a year of major growth in club numbers. In March there were approximately 60 affiliated clubs but none in Co. Meath, although there may have been many unaffiliated clubs in the county.

On Sunday January 30th 1887, Christopher Tallon led out Dunshaughlin Gaelic Football Club for its first game in the village under GAA rules. The opposition was provided by near neighbours Ross and was played in a field belonging to Mr. Patrick Delany. The game ended in victory for Tallon’s men “in the presence of a great number of people” according to the weekly paper ‘Sport’.