Men’s Premier 8 Championship V Kilmainham

Posted on: Thursday, June 23rd 2022 by Ultan Blake

Match Report  Premier Division 8

Kilmainham 1-17 (20) Dunshaughlin 2-11 (17)

Dunshaughlin and Kilmainham had their second meeting over the weekend when the sides met at Kilmainham’s fine facilities on Sunday morning. The home side recorded a second narrow victory over the Black and Ambers, with a three point winning margin. Dunshaughlin have fielded three separate adult teams this weekend and will make it a fourth in six days when the club’s first team plays its league game on Tuesday.


Dunshaughlin held a 1-6 to 0-8 half time advantage with an early James Rattigan goal keeping the visitors ahead throughout the half after Dylan Morgan’s opening point for Kilmainham in the first minute. Rattigan had two pointed frees in addition to his goal, while full-forward Niall Dundon contributed three points and Oliver McEnroe powered forward from centre-back to land a fine point.


Kilmainham leveled shortly after the restart but Dundon and Tommy Kinsella edged Dunshaughlin ahead shortly afterwards.  The turning point came in the tenth minute when Kilmainham hit a goal and followed up with a point to turn a two-point deficit into a lead of two.


Close to the end the difference was up to four but an expertly placed penalty from Rattigan reduced the deficit to a point before Kilmainham finished the stronger adding two late points before the final whistle. It was a determined Dunshaughlin performance and a couple of inaccurate passes denied the team a couple of goals. Fair dues to Kilmainham for fielding a full team and subs after their victory in Saturday’s final and the celebrations that undoubtedly followed. Kilmainham’s Dylan Morgan who got the Hogan Stand Man of the match on Saturday scoring 1-4 was the main tormentor again on Sunday scoring 0-8.

Dunshaughlin: Jack Nestor; Cillian Dennehy, Eoin Gorman, Owen Herlihy; Joe Larkin, Oliver McEnroe (0-1), Robert Walker; Danny Benson, Kevin Bambrick; Tommy Kinsella (0-1), James Rattigan (2-3), Cillian Hart; Diarmuid Shanahan, Niall Dundon (0-6), Jack Considine. Sub: Neil Finlay.

Kilmainham Team: Dean Peppard (0-01), Philip Mahon, Stephen Newman, Stephen Lynch, Mathew Mullen (0-03), Trevor Lynch (0-01), Padraig Caffery, Barry Lynch, Shane Butler, Johnny Quinlan (1-03), Pat O’Sullivan, Fergal Black, Stephen Woods, Dylan Morgan(0-08), Conor Kilgallen. Subs: Mark Fallon for Kilgallen, Andy Arkins(0-01)for Fallon, Richie Brady for Mahon.